Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-04-2020, 05:26 PM - 2 Likes   #1
Harbaror

k1000 focus question beginner

Hi,

Thank you again for all the help I have received so far.
I have yet a question needing answer.

As a beginner, I am trying to understand how my camera work, K1000 (50mm f1.4 lens)
This question is regarding the Focus.

When I point my camera to where I want the focus to be, and start turning the focus ring, I can see what is in and out of focus. As I have yet to develop my first film, I wanted to know if what I see in the viewfinder is what the picture will look like? Strange question I am sure.

Thank you in advance.

10-04-2020, 06:01 PM   #2
maw
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Harbaror Quote
As a beginner, I am trying to understand how my camera work, K1000 (50mm f1.4 lens)

When I point my camera to where I want the focus to be, and start turning the focus ring, I can see what is in and out of focus. As I have yet to develop my first film, I wanted to know if what I see in the viewfinder is what the picture will look like? Strange question I am sure.
Hi Harbaror,

Congratulations on the purchase, K1000 one of the reflex cameras that have made the history of Pentax,

The question you ask is yes, basically what you see in focus inside the viewfinder should be in focus (sharp) in the final print or slide.
But it is all related to the optics you use, if you use the classic 50mm you will have less depth of field (PDC) than a 28mm and more than a 100mm, i.e.
the sharp area will be greater or less depending on the focal length and aperture.

E.g. with a 50mm at f/11 you will have a sharper area than with the same lens with f/4 for example.

This is in summary the concept, then there are several other factors to consider, the focal length, the aperture, the distance from the subject.

Ciao Mario
10-04-2020, 06:12 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery