Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2008, 09:01 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
How to tell if a neg is over/under developed?

What should I look for to determine if a negative is over or under developed, vs. over or under exposed.

I read a little about this after searching online, but frankly, not allot made sense.

I'm very new to developing my own film, and now that I have the technique down, I want to start looking at dialing in the development times.

Another thing...

How do you flatten your negatives? I'm shooting tri-x 400. Right now they are under a stack of books.

Thanks!

12-08-2008, 10:13 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

If you had a densitometer, this would be easy....
But..

If you are printing on multicontrast paper (Ilford Multigrade, etc), a nomally exposed and developed negative will print nicely on a grade II or III paper. I think the smaller formats want a slightly higher contrat paper, so 35mm will likely be happier on a grade III.

Somewhere around here, I have an essay that I wrote on the subject. I'll try to find it and post it for you.

I found it. More of a couple of paragraphs than an essay, but this stuff ain't rocket science.

Here is how I balance in a film/ paper combination:
First, set the enlarger head at the height needed to make an
8x10 print with minimal cropping. It is a good idea to scribe
this height to ensure repeatability. Set the enlarging lens to a
middle aperture value. Put in a middle grade printing filter.
filter Use time to increase or decrease exposure to the paper
for the duration of the testing procedure. Be generous with your
developing time, but be consistent. At least 1-1/2 minutes for
RC, preferably 2 minutes
Step one is to find out what exposure is needed for maximum
black on the paper. This entails taking an unexposed piece of
the film you are dialling in and giving it the manufacturers
recommended processing. Put a thin scratch from corner to corner