Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-17-2022, 05:40 PM   #1

Missing Focusing screen/Prism (?) - Pentax Heiland Honeywell H2

Hey folks!
I'm extremely new to the world of photography, and I need some help.
I stumbled upon my grandfather's Pentax H2 (in pristine condition) from somewhere along the 70s era, I reckon.
Aside from a laggy film transport (which works after a few tries and I guess just needs a bit of oil), the camera is missing
its mirror. I really do not know what to call it other than that, since I'm no expert. Maybe it's the focusing microprism or the reflector mirror.
I have no idea.
I read the manual about it having the Fresnel lens, and I think it's all gone for some reason. When I opened the camera I just saw
black through the viewfinder, so I guessed there was nothing there. And I was correct 😅
I'll attach a photo of the inside below.

I would really appreciate any help at all. Suggestions, comments, anything goes. I don't know what to buy, or how to fix this!
Thanks in advance!
Cheers 😊

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
--  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
--  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
--  Photo 
01-17-2022, 05:44 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi and welcome to the forum. It's not missing it's mirror - The mirror is stuck in the "up" position. Your photo shows the underside of the mirror carrier.
Others here should be able to advise what to do to get it to drop down without damage.
01-17-2022, 05:47 PM - 1 Like   #3

Original Poster
Oh thank you so so much! As I said I'm a total noob! You actually relieved me of some stress, so thank you very much. I look forward to a solution. Lovely of you to answer so quickly
01-17-2022, 05:51 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Here's some links:
Sticky shutter in an old H (or S) 2 - PentaxForums.com
Spotmatic F mirror stuck - PentaxForums.com
Spotmatic Mirror return - PentaxForums.com

And also this: