Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-15-2022, 09:56 AM   #1

Pentax MX less sharp than before - tested with several lenses - a camera fault?

Hi everyone,
I've been using Pentax MX for several years now and quite extensively, I am using it with 50mm f1.4 and 85mm f2.
I have noticed that the images have gradually started becoming less sharp, on both of the lenses, also when the lenses are on more closed f-stops.

I am developing in the same lab as usual, and i there is no decrease in quality of their scans for the photos i take with my mamiya67, so its not the lab. I use fresh films as usual.

I am having doubts about the prism, but even when the focus is spot on (which is getting to be harder than usual) - the sharpness is not what it was, and seems somehow uneven.
Could it be the pressure plate or perhaps the lens mount that is somehow decentered?

Would be very thankful for any feedback!

04-15-2022, 12:51 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by ivanm Quote
Hi everyone,
I've been using Pentax MX for several years now and quite extensively, I am using it with 50mm f1.4 and 85mm f2.
I have noticed that the images have gradually started becoming less sharp, on both of the lenses, also when the lenses are on more closed f-stops.

I am developing in the same lab as usual, and i there is no decrease in quality of their scans for the photos i take with my mamiya67, so its not the lab. I use fresh films as usual.

I am having doubts about the prism, but even when the focus is spot on (which is getting to be harder than usual) - the sharpness is not what it was, and seems somehow uneven.
Could it be the pressure plate or perhaps the lens mount that is somehow decentered?

Would be very thankful for any feedback!
I think it is more likely to be the focus screen or mirror that is misaligned. Try removing the screen and refitting it.
04-15-2022, 01:45 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery