Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 64 Likes Search this Thread
05-12-2022, 12:39 AM   #61
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Terry C Quote
I have had my Nikon F3 since new in 1983. Tried others, but they don't even come close.
I've had two F3HP (new) since 1986 and they are gems. But I paid the price because they were my tools of my trade and when you're shooting 12 hours a day, you need that buttery advance lever, high eye point, and the 1/90" manual shutter when the power goes out. Also love the waist level finder sometimes. I would've gone with the LX but I got so much negativity because my prior system had MINOLTA on the pentaprism cover, I just went with Nikon. It's sort of the same thing today if I was a pro, showing up to a set without a Canikony actually affects your perceived value.

Good photographers know the mark is irrelevant, but often the people that hire them don't. The image business; like people and their vehicles.

Back to the F3. It was the third camera and system for me, a serious photographer. For an entry level user, it's overkill. For Nikon, any of their manual focus SLRs would do except the EM.
For Pentax, I think any of the manual focus models would be great except the ME. What's up with those two letters?

05-12-2022, 03:24 AM - 1 Like   #62
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Alex645 Quote