Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-28-2022, 07:16 PM   #1

Pz-70

Okay guy's I just pushed the button on ebay and purchased a PZ-70. Any comments 0n this model? What is with the plastic lens mount? is it a big deal or nothing to worry about?

05-29-2022, 07:22 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Hi Jimhi and welcome to PF.

I have the 'little brother' version without the full program mode - the z-70. I've been using that camera since 2012 without any issues whatsoever. The plastic bayonet assembly is tougher than it would appear and I haven't encountered any issues despite using the camera with a bunch of different lenses including the select DA lenses which adequately cover the whole frame. I think the AF is quite good for a camera of its vintage.

Admittedly, I'm only running a few rolls of film through it a year, but it has been a great camera overall. The only difficulty I really have with it is finding batteries. I have had to order them online since day one.

I hope you enjoy your p version after you get it.
05-30-2022, 06:14 AM   #3

Original Poster
I don't know how but apparently I am very fortunate in that the local hardware store carries a wide variety of batteries including the 2CR5 as well as A76 and 357 (all common camera batteries). I thank you very much for your assessment of the camera. I was just wondering if the plastic lens mount did break if the metal lens mount of another model (I am looking at you PZ10) could be grafted on to it?
06-21-2022, 06:37 PM   #4

Original Poster
Pz-70