Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-16-2022, 02:24 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Can I use M42 Super-Takumar lenses in "M" mode on my 1957 Pentax "AP"?

I purchased, but don't have yet, a camera I've long wanted to acquire, a 1957 Pentax "AP" - the original "Pentax" model. The body will come with the Takumar 58mm F2.0 preset lens. The body is in working order, refurbished by Mark Hama, and I am excitedly looking forward to using it. The 58mm/F2 will be my only M42 preset Takumar lens so far, since I've never owned a Pentax earlier than my Spotmatic (which I've been using for 52 years). I have 6 of the M42 Super-Takumar lenses to use with the Spotmatic, all of which I believe have the little "M/A" switch on the barrel. I have 5 other non-Pentax M42 lenses that I've used with the Spotty, but I'd have to check if they all have M/A switches as well.

My question is this - Will I be able to use these later-model M42 lenses with the Pentax AP, by focusing with the lens on "A" mode (i.e., fully wide open), and then selecting the desired f-stop and moving the A/M switch to "M" to stop down the lens prior to exposure? It seems to me that this would work, and I believe this was one of the reasons Asahi designed these lenses with an A/M switch, to be backwards-compatible with the earlier cameras. Alternatively, I could just keep the A/M switch on M all the time, opening the lens with the aperture ring to wide open to focus, then selecting the desired aperture with the ring just before shooting, and then re-opening the aperture to focus for the next shot.

I searched the forum here to see if this questions was already addressed, but I didn't find it.