Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-31-2009, 09:14 PM   #1

Problem with Program PLus body

Hello all,

I'm a newbie on this forum and am just getting back into photography after about 20 years of absence. I tried to search the archive for my problem but was unable to find anything so please excuse me if this topic has been covered before...

I have a Pentax Program Plus (body #1315083) which I've just unpacked from storage. I was about to load the film but discovered that the film winder will not move.

Apparently the winding mechanism is jammed or broken and I live many many miles from anyone who does camera repairs.

I have two possibilities. a) send the body in and have the winder repaired and b) upgrade to a DSLR body.

The questions I have for this forum are:
1. Where do you recommend I send the body for repair (I really like the quality I get from *real* film)...

2. If the recommendation is to upgrade to DSLR, what model camera body do you all recommend to go with my P/K-A lenses.

Finally, I need to be able to take some close up pictures of my wife's jewelry to put in her online store. Will the focal length of my 35-70mm lens be sufficient for that or should I investigate a close-up lens and which would you recommend.

Sorry for all the questions in my first post to the forum but I have nowhere else to turn in this small town in the middle of nowhere... https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/images/smilies/biggrin.gif

Cheers!!
Jim -

05-31-2009, 09:52 PM   #2
Veteran Member

You may have the same problem as described in this thread.
05-31-2009, 11:10 PM   #3
Forum Member

Hi Jim,

Please follow the link provided by SOldBear. You might have the same problem to what I had. I hope you'll have the solution quickly.