Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2009, 12:49 PM   #1

Help! MZ-7 shutter release not working

I recently bought a used MZ-7 from Henry's on eBay. I am completely new to film photography, and the camera didn't come with a manual. It worked fine for 13 exposures, but now the shutter is not activating. A half-press activates the metering and autofocus/autofocus confirmation, but the camera will not actually take a picture. I have removed the batteries and put them back in and changed lenses, but can't really think of what else to do. The LCD isn't giving me any weird error messages. Does anyone have any suggestions?

08-10-2009, 04:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm not familiar with that camera, however you might try checking the AF.S - AF-C - MF switch. Also check if the Aperture ring is set on "A". Just a couple of things that might affect it. Hopefully someone knowledgeable about that camera will respond.
08-10-2009, 04:18 PM   #3

Original Poster
Yes, all the dials, including the manual focus/auto-focus switch and the "A" setting on the aperture ring are in a definate spot that "snicks." Everything is working as it should, however the camera still isn't releasing the shutter. Could I just have bad luck, and the shutter puked on me right after my first 13 exposures with it? I just sent in a DA* 50-135 that needed to be replaced, not fixed under warranty. Hope I don't have to send in more of my equipment.
08-10-2009, 05:18 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I believe there are some conditions in some modes under which the MZ-7 won't release the shutter, like without AF confirmation or a valid exposure: I'm afraid I don't recall the details, but Photolady here was experiencing a problem like that.

The manual is online somewhere, not sure where. Pentax's own site, perhaps, and possibly orphancameras.com.

Are the batteries fresh, by the way?

08-10-2009, 07:23 PM   #5

Original Poster