Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2009, 10:40 PM   #1

Auto-Focus Lenses on Manual Bodies

Hello all,
I am new to Pentax. I just picked up an MX and 40/2.8. I have been primarily a film rangefinder user and I have the leica-mount 43/1.9 and really like it, so that got me interested in more Pentax glass. I went with an MX because I am used to fully manual, mechanical cameras. So far, I like it!

On to my question. I know you can use the modern Pentax (non-DA) auto-focus lenses on manual bodies, but how does it compare to using manual lenses on a manual body? In other words, how is the focusing movement, aperture controls, usability?

I know the 43/1.9 is an auto-focus lens in Pentax mount and I'm interested specifically in that and the other Limited lenses.

Thanks in advance for your help.

08-21-2009, 10:48 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have the FA 35/2 and the FA 77/1.8 Limited and both are a pleasure to use on a manual focus film body. Not as nice as say my Pentax-K 55/1.8, but still quite nice. The only issues that I have had are:
  • The FA 35's focus ring is a bit hard to access when the hood is attached
  • The focus action on both lenses is not as smooth as a manual focus lens...you can feel the AF drive through the focus ring
I also have a Sigma Macro lens that is AF, but I seldom use it in that mode. I guess that is comment enough regarding its use as a manual focus lens!

Edit: I forgot to add a note regarding aperture controls. Your MX was designed to use the basic K-mount lenses. As such, you would use the FA series lenses with the aperture ring on other than the "A" position. My FA 35 has a very smooth aperture ring movement. The FA 77 limited is less smooth. This may be an issue with my copy, but to be honest, it feels a little clunky...not what I expected from a "Limited" series lens.

Steve

Last edited by stevebrot; 08-21-2009 at 10:58 PM.