Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-22-2009, 08:51 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
help me learn?

i'd been thinking about getting into film photography for about a year now and i finally have. i started out my journey into photography with my first camera, a digital, fujifilm finepix s5200...its a decent camera but no d60 for sure. but i really wanted to get more out of photography and i hoped that film would be more rewarding and challenging. so lucky for me, my aunt found out about my interest and decided to give me her old cameras. a pentax ME Super and a pentax Super Program!

but im a complete newb about this....i've gone through a few rolls of film but i've only gotten one processed....at walgreens....some of the photos turned out good while the others were less than decent. my art teacher (as i am still in high school) looked at them and told me that walgreens used the wrong process, which i also know nothing about

basically, im new to this art form and not only are my pentax cameras my first slrs, their my first film cameras too. so any tips for a beginner like me would be greatly appreciated, and im also curious about film, if i order film from the internet i have a huge array to choose from but the stores around my area have such a limited selection, so what are some good films?

ps. im into black and white

pps....i know very little about film photography

thanks

08-22-2009, 11:58 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Black and white film comes in two flavors.

C-41 process

&

Silver Halide

If you plan to develope your own film, you should be buying Silver Halide type films (Kodak tri-x, Ilford Delta)

If you are going to drop off your film at a one hour photolab, you should use C-41 films (Ilford XP2 super, Kodak BW400CN)