Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-15-2010, 03:35 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Black & White

Hello All, Could anyone name a good quality B&W film that is not to expensive? I have never shot B&W and would like to try. Also any idea what I would need to develop my pictures. Please remember that I am a newbie And could you break down the expense of the items. I know its asking alot but I figure the answer would be here Thanks

05-15-2010, 06:33 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not a problem. Pardon the brief answer, but we can elaborate.

Have a look at freestylephoto.biz. Arista Premium is reputedly the same as Tri-X, (I'm in the process of testing that theory, myself. Doesn't taste the same, though.) And there's plenty of student films.

Also, I believe there's some resources for starting to do your own processing. Doing your own negs really doesn't take terribly much.
05-15-2010, 06:34 PM   #3
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by toten44 Quote
Hello All, Could anyone name a good quality B&W film that is not to expensive? I have never shot B&W and would like to try. Also any idea what I would need to develop my pictures. Please remember that I am a newbie And could you break down the expense of the items. I know its asking alot but I figure the answer would be here Thanks
For Film you can start with Kodak 400CN, which is a Black and White film that can be processed with C41 (same as color prints) checmicals at a local lab (or wallmart type place).

For Real black and white, I've grown to like Ilford PanF+ 50. There are many on the market though and you can get them through places like B&H, or Freestyle. The bigger problem is going to be the chemicals. Several places have gone to not shipping (it seems) liquid chemicals so check before you buy.