Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-24-2010, 04:22 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Good film camera to start with

I've been using a DSLR for about 6 years now, and have zero experience with film SLR cameras. However, over the past year I've accumulated a rather nice collection of Pentax glass, most of which could be used well with film. I would like to try shooting some film, probably B+W, and was wondering if you guys had a recommendation for a good camera to start with.

For what it's worth, I actually already have a like-new ZX-50 (w/ grip) and a couple of older manual focus cameras, the K1000 and ME (all of these I got when I bought lenses that came with bodies). I ran an old, expired roll of film through the ZX-50 to make sure it worked and other than the color and grain looking a little off, it seems to function fine.

Anyway, I guess my question is are there features on other film bodies beyond what the ZX-50 has that would be worth looking into or should I just stick with it to start? Seeing as the film and processing is going to cost me a couple bucks anyway, I don't mind spending a little more on film body if it offered specific things that would be worth having. Again, I'm pretty uninformed when it comes to film SLR, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

08-24-2010, 05:08 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The ZX-50 is actually a fairly bad choice, as it doesn't support M and K lenses due to an electronic block.

See here: Pentax Camera Reviews - Reviews of Pentax K-x, K-7, 645D other cameras - PentaxForums.com and here The Pentax Camera Lens Compatibility Chart

I would recommend the Pentax ZX-5n, as it "has it all" (AF, full manual, full auto, built-in TTL flash, 1/125th sync) and has better build quality.