Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-01-2010, 08:36 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Some noobish SLR questions.

Ok, I'm not new to photography, but I AM very new to using film. I just bought an old Pentax SV in good shape to basically play with.

I have some questions about my workflow, however and if i'm doing anything "wrong".

Here's an example of my workflow for my first time out with it:
1. Bought 400 speed B&W film (Kodak, i think)
2. Took photos
3. When finished, took roll of film to Walgreens and asked for only a CD of photos.
4. Received CD and negatives of film
5. Transferred images from CD to computer and imported into Apple Aperture

Here's where my questions come in:

1. When i import them into Aperture, the software treats it like a color image and they even take on a hue of blue/green/tan at times. Do I need to "convert" it to B&W?

2. Should I even be doing post-processing work in the first place? I kind of like the idea of leaving them "raw" and as they were taken from the camera. What's the general consensus on post-process work on film?

I'm by no means doing serious work with this camera. It's merely a toy for me, honestly. I like the idea of it's "raw" and "retro" feel, and really like how my first set of photos came out. Any suggestions/comment/etc. are extremely welcome!

Thanks!
Matt

(oh, here's a gallery from my first ever "shoot" with my new-to-me SV: Matthew Smith | Around Town (SV))

09-01-2010, 09:07 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The CD images should be JPEG format and should import directly into Aperture without needing modification. What do the files look like if you drop them onto your Web browser? The browser should show them as they are.

Steve
09-01-2010, 11:05 PM   #3
Giveaway winner!

Photos: Albums