Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2010, 02:40 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Help for ex-Canon user

Hello,

I'm new to Pentax and to these forums. I am trying to find out what would be a good film camera to go with my new K-5. I still love using film and the old heavy 35mm cameras of days gone by.

I plan on buying mostly older manual(prime) lenses except maybe two of the newer WR models. What older SLR models would go good with the K-5 so that I can maximize lens use between the 2?

Thanks for any help you can provide!

12-16-2010, 03:30 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
With one or two exceptions, all K mount glass fits all K mount cameras. This isn't nikon, there isn't any auto-indexing buffoonery. The real question is if you want something old and mechanical like the KX or K1000, or something with some automation like the Super Program or K2. Some of the 90's models are supposed to be good and cheap, but I've not handled them personally so I won't comment on them.
Basically, if you give a few more details than "An old 35mm camera" you'll get more focused responses. I'm reasonably sure the entire film forum likes old 35mm equipment, but it's hard to make a recommendation without knowing if you want fully manual, aperture priority, autoexposure, etc.
12-16-2010, 03:40 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Do you want an autofocus film camera or the good-old manual focus metal cameras? Also what is your budget?

If you want autofocus I'm not much help as I've never owned an AF Pentax film camera (although if I were to buy one it would probably be the *ist or MZ-S).