Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-14-2011, 01:32 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
MZ-5 or?

Hi all,

I'm seriously considering now to get film camera. I would love MZ-S but they are hard to come by and cost too much for me to get approval from "finance" department.

So, MZ-5 or MZ-5n seem the next choices. Is there anything else in film land to compare to these two? I would like AF, but could live with MF if good camera (I mean LX but again, the price is just bit too much out of the range) but I'd like split screen (or microprism). Nice built would be handy to...

thanks for any advices...

01-14-2011, 02:26 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Peter, it's a strange thing with film cameras. Every time I buy one, and it happens every now and then, I just love the feel and look of the particular machine.... I have no experience with the MZ-s, but whether it is the Spotmatic or the Mx or an obscure Russian rangefinder: it's great using them.

That said I'm wondering what you're going to use the film camera for? Will it be mainly streets? Or are you planning other things? Asking this, because if it is street, you might consider a small as possible camera......so no AF?
01-14-2011, 02:58 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi Axl,
some pretty good deals on ZX-L/MZ-6, notch above MZ-5, very capable
especially regarding use of flash, correspondingly higher in price though.

If flash isnt a priority, ZX-M/MZ-M isnt a bad package. just doesnt have auto exposure
and flash integration that ZX-L/MZ-6 or ZX-5/MZ-5 offers.
Have heard of problems with internal motor/gears. Ive never had a problem with
my zx-m bought in 1997. Is plausible with low batterys over time, uses cr-2 lithiums(2)
would suggest battery grip FG, takes 4 AA's, bought mine for $8.

ZX/MZ- 30,50,60's. cant shoot "K" or "M" len's efficiently. Nothing wrong with those bodies,