Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-12-2011, 05:11 PM   #46
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I've been a photographer for a little over a year. I shoot film exclusively. Originally I picked up a film Pentax because 45$ for a Spotmatic and 55mm is DIRT CHEAP. However, I've become enamored with manual cameras, build quality, and being able to switch emulsions. I'll probably never go digital because-
1. No digital gives me the feel of my Spotmatic or KX. Milimetres of chrome plating, leatherette, and black enamel give a very nice aesthetic and feel good in my hands. They layout suits me, there are no convoluted menus or un-marked dials. There is a shutter speed and film speed dial. Aperture is on the lens. The simplicity is refreshing
2. Film is nice because you can pick a film to suit the situation. You aren't stuck with one sensor for all your shooting. Film also has a low-speed advantage. Show me a dSLR with full-frame and ISO 25-64. Most don't go below 200.
3. I enjoy developing. Printing and scanning, not so much, but I'd rather develop than move pictures to a computer and convert from RAW.

Basically, a manual 35mm SLR suits my photography and style of work very well. Others may be better served by digital, but I've yet to find ANY camera, film or digital, that handles as well as my spotmatic, and I've been able to use a few of the schools, a few friends, and handle almost every brand under the sun in-store.
It's a preference, and to me, it has as much to do with the camera as film vs. digital. If the Spottie was digital, I'd be a digital guy. But for me, Film and Spotmatic are perfect, or at least as close to it as photo equipment can be.

02-13-2011, 05:04 PM   #47
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Ratmagiclady Quote
Hrm, I wonder how much negs-only development costs these days