Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2011, 02:30 AM   #1

Pentax KX Shutter starting to stuck at slow shutter speed.

Hello all,

I am new here. Nice to meet you all. I have a problem with my Pentax KX shutter hoping I can get some help from experts here.

I am a beginner level photographer, and I just got a 1975 Pentax KX from my father as a starter. The camera seems to work perfectly at shutter speed 1/8 sec. or higher. However, the mirror sometimes stuck at shutter speed 1/4, 1/2, and 1 sec. and will not come down for awhile (at least 5 sec each time). I tried to search online for more information, but I can't seem to find any information about my camera. I can't even find an on-line service manual for my camera. I am wondering if any expert here knows what causes this problem. Thanks!

03-03-2011, 03:45 AM   #2

I had a similar problem on my ME Super. It was a build up of grime over the years. A standard service sorted this out.
A camera that is 36 years old will develop little problems like this but they can usually be sorted out. The KX is a top end camera and if it is in good condition in general it may be worth spending a little money on a professorial service.
03-03-2011, 03:51 AM   #3
Inactive Account

probably the mechanical stuck at low shutter speed..i have the same problem with my pentax ME too..but mine is more worst..it stick and never go down..i need to operate inside the camera to let it down..
03-03-2011, 07:57 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums