Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-19-2011, 01:34 PM   #1

New member, long time Pentax User, New PZ-20

Hi to everyone,

I have been shooting film for many years. First with a K1000, and then with a Ricoh KR-10M. At work I have used an Olympus point and shoot digital. Then I got a Canon Powershoot SX20is with the external hotshoe. I thought it would have been easy to use, but then I had to learn the EOS. The learning curve was long.

While looking for information, I stumbled upon this website and learned why people like Pentax. When I saw an automated Pentax SLR at a garage sale, I promised myself I would buy it. The day came, and I bought a PZ-20 without a lens for a $1.

I bought the battery ($3.95) and downloaded the manual. I think the PZ-20 is a pretty neat camera. Even without reading the manual, I could already use the knowledge I have from my previous cameras in manual mode. I like how I can use my K mount lenses on it and my Pentax AF 160 flash in the hotshoe (even the flash ready light works!).

So far, I have been practicing without film, and I find the spot metering to be much more sensitive than the center weight metering I am used too with the K1000 and Ricoh. I can handle that difference. What I am not used to is when the camera is set to Av. The shutter speed jumps around a lot when I move the center from the subject. It seems like there is no way to lock the speed. What is the work around for this?

The PZ-20 has a lot of features that I did not know about. It has force me to learn more about photography to understand when to use them. For example, I about EV since the meter in calibrated in EVs. I look forward to buying an auto focus lens, but I find the focus indicator beep handy for the manual lenses as the focusing aid.