Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-18-2011, 08:42 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Complete n00b Requests Advice

I just bought a Pentax P3 on Fleabay, and am assured it will arrive via USPS within the week. So "yay" for that. So now I turn to all of you for a bit of advice:

Film. Apparently, the P3 has ISO setting, but reads the DX coding from the film to know what to do. Is all / most / some 35mm film DX coded? How do I know if it is or not -- will it say on the box?

I looked at a local Walgreens to see what film they carry. There is a B&W from Kodak that says it must be processed as C-41, *not* as B&W. Say what? Is this film good quality, or should I avoid it?

Cost. As a humble beginner, I expect there to be quite a bit of a learning curve. Learning means doing. Any advice on how to keep costs down on film processing?

Thanks for any tips / advice you can share.

04-18-2011, 09:08 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I'm unfamiliar with the P3. However, some basic answers here would still apply. If the camera reads the DX encoding on film, great. You will need to read the manual if there is one or if not get one from here:
Pentax P3 instruction manual, user manual, PDF manual, free manuals There must be some way to set / check the film's ISO once loaded. Usually film will say it on the box if it's DX encoded (actually that's the odd shaped bars on the outside of the can).