Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2011, 12:14 AM   #1

What's your preferred consumer grade film?

As the title states, what are your two preferred/favorite store bought film? This excludes the pro stuff. If there's only two brands available (such as the case around here) you can go as specific as the line the manufacture makes (ie. Fuji Superia, Kodak Gold, Ultramax, etc). Easy access is key but ordering online can be counted as well. Explanation of why you like it doesn't hurt either.

For me:
I only started playing with film so I haven't tried enough to say I have a definite favorite. Used one roll of expired iso 400 Kodak Max and I don't think it aged well. Results were not great. Of course it's not fair to make a judgement since it was expired. I have four rolls of Ultramax so I'll see how I like that. The other one I've used is store branded iso 400 Fuji Superia(?), which has produced some nice pictures in good lighting. I wish there were more choices around here.

09-08-2011, 01:45 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
I've just started film photography and since you are also just starting out i think the cheaper the better.. i tried both kodak ultramax 400 and fujifilm superia 400, cant see any difference!

I found out that ebay sells film cheap with 36 exposures from a bloke in Thailand & my local supermarket still sells film relatively cheap too but only 24 exposures. (fuji & kodak ones)

The other thing to worry is developing and printing, the place I go to used to charge $6.95 for 24 exposures but now starting to charge $9.99 starting this month!

anyway just keep looking! Ebay is a good way to start if you dont mind waiting, else try your local supermarket if you need it now!

good luck!
09-08-2011, 04:21 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
FUJI Superia is a great film
I really liked the 200 and 400 for everyday photography.
09-08-2011, 06:14 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery