Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-09-2011, 06:09 PM   #1

Safe to buy film from Ebay?

I'm new to film photography and so far have been buying film locally (hard on the pocketbook!!!). Any concerns to buying film online, Ebay? Could the film degrade in overseas transport? I suppose it ends up on store shelves from Japan in good condition... Am I missing something here???

Can someone give kudos to a reliable online retailer, please? I'm in Canada.

09-09-2011, 06:39 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
First of all, glad to hear you're still shooting film.
Buying on ebay, you never know how the film has been stored. Though I'm sure some sellers are reputable, you have no way of knowing which ones. I would suggest going to B&H Photo in New York--they're cheap and reputable.
I'm sure others here could point you to other good dealers that are closer to you.
09-09-2011, 07:12 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Both Vistek and Henrys have on-line sites for purchasing anything including film. I tend to trust both of them for reliable sales.

I don't know their prices since I don't currently shoot film but take a look, the nice thing about them is that they both have bricks & mortar stores although I doubt Henrys would carry much film actually in their stores.
09-10-2011, 03:39 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks folks.

09-11-2011, 09:46 PM   #5
Veteran Member

I buy 95% of my film online and it's shipped internationally. I haven't had a single issue so far.
However buying the film from a good seller in the first place is important. I would recommend Freestyle photo in the US. Especially for B&W.
Oh yeah and welcome
09-12-2011, 07:42 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Never bought film from B&H,but have done fair amount of buisness with them
throughout the years with other items.Never been a problem.
For film,We have two local establishments that are full service regarding film.