Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-09-2011, 09:25 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Night Time Long Exposure Question

I am new to trying night time long exposures. I plan on using my Pentax MX, Velvia 50, and a tripod. There is a local fair going on this month, so I want to try some shots there. My concern is, do I use the MX internal meter, a spot meter, or an incident meter to get the right EV? Do I use the Fred Parker site instead?

I thank everyone in advance for the advice.

09-10-2011, 04:28 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
HI, it's been a looong time since I tried night time long-exposeres on film, but my experiences with any analog or digital camera is that you cannot use the inernal meter.

If you really want to meter your way to the right exposure you will have to use one of those professional or semi-professional meters that are quite pricy.

Now, I don't know the reciprocity characteristics of Velvia 50, but if you are talking real night time exposures of several (tens of?) seconds, you should perhaps start now - before the real fair - spending a roll or two on tests and experiments.
09-10-2011, 05:32 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Depends on subject and lens speed, whether meter will work. Fair subjects may be lit well enough for camera meter to work, or use a spot meter. An incident meter is perfect, if you can get it in same lighting as the subject. Practice roll(s) is good advice imho (remember to make notes about exposure settings for each frame!)
09-10-2011, 05:42 AM   #4

Shooting at night

If I could I'd use a digital. Subject maybe lite up an speed. I've shot fireworks theres a lot of misses before you hit on the right settings.

09-10-2011, 07:09 AM   #5
Pentaxian