Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-02-2011, 08:41 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Pentax AF bodies with pentaprism finders?

I'm a newbie to the world of Pentax, having recently converted from Canon. Needless to say, I've been enjoying it so far!

I already have a Pentax DSLR which I enjoy very much, but I'm looking for a Pentax film SLR which will be equivalent to or better than my Canon Rebel 2000 film SLR. In particular, I'm looking for an autofocus film SLR with a bright (or bright-ish) viewfinder, preferably a pentaprism finder.

I found a Pentax MZ-1 at a thrift shop, but the viewfinder is noticeably dimmer than that of the Rebel.

What are some other options with brighter viewfinders, preferably at $150 or cheaper?

11-02-2011, 09:17 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
All the higher-end DSLR bodies have pentaprisms: in terms of current models, this includes the K-5.

For past models, check out our camera DB.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

11-02-2011, 09:17 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

best place to confirm Pentaprism is the review section (it will also give you an idea of average prices paid)

Autofocus Film SLRs - Pentax Film Cameras - Pentax Camera Database and Reviews - DSLR, Digital, and Legacy Cameras

I used my sisters rebel and i can say that i much preferred my MZ5n and MZ6 to the rebel. these should be available in this range easily and both are pentaprism

if you can find one the MZ3 was also an excellent camera (but rare) (much the same as an MZ5 but with higher max shutter)