Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2012, 01:07 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Film Recommendations

I'm very new to film SLR's, just bought a K1000 and was wondering if there was a type of film that you could recommend? Do most 35mm films work okay in this camera?
Thankyou in advance for your help

01-15-2012, 02:25 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

the only recommandation is about the iso/asa of the film. Just choose something that will be give you enought speed in every situation.

Personnaly i use 400 iso film for everyday shoot (when i want to shoot during some party in a bar or in a street or whatever.). And 100 iso film when shooting during day only (because i'm visiting some place for example.).

that's the only big thing that seems important to me.

Enjoy film it's a real drug
01-15-2012, 02:28 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter

Load' em Up!

Hi Tom, Welcome to the Pentax Forum!
As far as I know, any 35mm film made will work in the K1000. I seem to remember that the ASA/ISO dial only goes to 1600, so you wouldn't want any film faster than that- if they're even available anymore.
But Fujifilm, Kodak and Ilford were on my camera store's shelf last time I bought some. Kodak has cut back production quite a bit and has also filed for bankrupcy, but a couple of weeks ago I bought both TMax and Plus X.
Since I only shoot B + W film, I'll leave the color film/slide suggestions to those more qualified.
I like Ilford Delta 100 + 400, Kodak Plus-X for portraits and old, reliable Tri-X if you can find it. Lately all I can get is TMax 400, which isn't my favorite, but works for some subjects. The rendering seems a bit cold and metallic for my taste.
Good luck, you may find that your local film developer will scan the negatives onto a CD for you (at an additional cost) which make PP much faster and easier.
Ron
01-15-2012, 03:36 AM   #4

Original Poster