Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2012, 10:28 PM - 1 Like   #1

Photos: Gallery
I Screwed up Pretty Hard

I figured I'd share my film newbie screw up because I feel like an idiot right now and hopefully it can help someone who's new to film like myself. So I'm new to film and I loaded my third roll of tri-X. I guess I got cocky because it went in so easy and I was confident it was loaded right. The next night I went out and took a bunch of what I though where photos. I thought it was a great shoot and would give me some cool picture. Turns out I wasn't actually taking any pictures. Film veterans, Feel free to call me a dumb ass at this point. I was reading the K1000 manual today and it was talking about the rewind knob spinning when you advance the film. I realized that I forgot to check that when I first loaded the roll. I advanced the film and to my horror nothing moved. I guess what I learned from this is ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS MAKE SURE THE REWIND KNOB SPINS.

01-29-2012, 10:32 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I've done this once as well- don't be too embarrassed

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-29-2012, 10:47 PM   #3
Veteran Member

If that's the dumbest thing you ever do then you'll be one of the smarter photographers.

I once spent ages taking quite a few long exposure night shots; did all the right things, tripod, MLU & 2sec timer. Only problem was I took them all from a floating jetty.
01-29-2012, 10:49 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by twitch Quote