Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-30-2012, 08:44 AM - 1 Like   #1

Asahi Pentax SL

Hi everybody,

I bought an Asahi Pentax SL 35mm film camera yesterday. I am new to Pentax so I'd like to get more information about this camera. Any reviews or instructions would be much appreciated!

Also, usually how much do these cameras go for? the lens is f1.8/55mm.

I just put a roll of Fujifilm color in it. hoping to develop this weekend. Wish me luck.

thanks all!

01-30-2012, 09:26 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The SL is just a Spotmatic with no internal light meter. Apparently it isn't crippled in any other way (shutter goes from 1s to 1/1000, self timer still present), so it might be actually a good thing. It is a 100% mechanical camera, no battery, less things that can go wrong (Spotmatics are renown for defective light meters), so it should be very reliable, provided that you know how to use it properly and it is in good condition. For proper exposure without a light meter, I usually use the sunny 16 rule, but more like "sunny 11". No problems at all, it actually trains your eye to guess the exposure. Now, the prices vary much depending on the condition of the camera. I have seen recently an auction for a nice SV (similar to yours, but older) plus that Super Takumar 1,8/55 ending at $20. But don't be fooled by the price, I once had the chance to use that lens (bought it as a present for someone) and I lusted for it ever since.
You can find a manual here.
01-30-2012, 09:30 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Here is the information on that camera from the forum database: pentaxforums.com/camerareviews/pentax-sl