Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2012, 05:40 AM   #1

how do i achieve this effect?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hello everyone!

Total photography noob here, and I randomly stumbled upon this photo:

I'm guessing this photo used a semi-fish eye type lens or lens attachment? I was just wondering how can I achieve this effect with a Pentax SF-1 camera. Is it is even possible with my model/current lens?

The lens I'm using is a "SMC Pentax-F zoom 35-70mm lens"

02-01-2012, 06:21 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sigma make a 4.5mm fish eye that I think can do this. Take a look in the lens reviews section for sigma primes.

As for lens attachments, there are loads of fish eye attachments out there. You can kind of tell they have a HUGE attachment on by looking at the top photo. So it's probably doable at 35mm on your zoom if you find the strongest fisheye adapter you can and stick it on the front.
02-01-2012, 06:22 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Looks to me like they were shot with a screw on fisheye adapter on a wide angle lens. Maybe ~28mm.
02-01-2012, 06:23 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

As in like this:

Well you have to have some sort of circular fisheye lens. I shot this on my Pentax PZ-1p with a Sigma 8mm lens. It has a 180 degree field of view.

02-01-2012, 07:12 AM   #5
Pentaxian

Is it the image distortion or the vignetting you're asking about?

I think the image distortion is the result of using a fish-eye lens; vignetting could be using a fish-eye lens designed for full frame on a cropped sensor camera, OR using a long lens hood, OR a 'mask' added in post production.
02-01-2012, 07:14 AM   #6

Photos: Albums