Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-29-2012, 09:24 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Got a free Auto 110

I've done a search and can't find much on this camera on this site, though I did find a handy pictorial on how to strip down and repair one on another site. I've been dreaming idly of getting one for ages now, but the availability of the discontinued film put me off until yesterday. I had a quick browse on ebay and well, the long and short of it is, that I ordered 5 films for 35 posted and they come with a free 110 with 24mm lens. To top it off, the guy e-mailed me to say that the auction went higher than he thought it would so he's chucking in a few extra spools of film, so grins all round in Plymouth last night.

I've found the manual online but I was wondering if there was anything in particular I should look out for as I'm new to film. The vendor said he's not used it in 15 years, but it winds on and the shutter trips so that's a good start. I hear that light seals can often go in older film cameras but is there anything else I should investigate before using it too heavily? Of course, I'll run one film through it and get it developed and printed before going crazy.

Also, I read a while ago about reloading the cartridges with 8mm cine film, has anyone else heard of this being done? I seem to remember the article I read saying that the perforations are off but will work, at the expense of excessively wide gaps between the negs. I also read that 35mm film has the right perforation spacing and can be split in half, and have come up with a hair-brained idea to use the laser cutter at work to make a device where I could feed in a 135 film at one end, and wind it over a razor blade to split it and spool it into two empty 110 cartridges in one easy action - obviously, I wouldn't be using the laser to split the film itself, just for the precision in making the splitter.