Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-09-2012, 01:01 PM   #1

Asahi Pentax Spotmatic

Total newbie here! I have just dug out an asahi pentax spotmatic that belonged to my father. It hasn't been used for at least 15 years, although all the moving parts appear to do so. I'm not sure of the age of it, the serial number starts with a 3. I have used film SLRs in the past (praktica) but am completely unfamiliar with this particular camera and very rusty on their use in general!
I have a couple of questions: apart from a new battery, is there anything I should do / check before using it as it's been inactive so long (has been properly stored in it's case inside a box, indoors)? Also, there is a button marked 'SW' with an arrow pointing upwards - what is it and what does it do?

I will probably be back with questions about the various lenses that are with it as well...

04-09-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
My first suggestion is to go HERE and download a free manual for your particular Spotmatic. The actual model name/number is usually engraved on the top, to the left of the prism (when the lens mount is facing away from you) such as "SP" or "SP ll" or "SP F".
04-09-2012, 01:47 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
It will need a battery to get the light meter to work, but nothing else on the camera requires the small battery. When you take your first photos and if the meter is not working, take readings from another camera or look at the film package which should give you some general directions for exposures for different light conditions.

And you also have lenses. This should be a lot of fun, best of luck.
04-09-2012, 08:22 PM   #4