Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-13-2012, 09:13 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Help with Zorki rangefinder

Hi, a friend just gave me a Zorki 2-C from 1958 which was her grandfather's, I believe, to look at it and maybe clean it and put it into order if I can. Functionally, it is very much like the Zenit E, just that it has a rangefinder. Please note that this is the first time when I put my hands on such a camera. I will take pictures of it later. For now, I would like to know what can usually go wrong with these and what can I do to get it working. I have opened its bottom and the film spool went out as well, this is normal I suppose, but just wanted to make sure. Bear with me, I've never used a rangefinder before. I already figured out how to use it, but it has a slow second curtain at slow speeds (1/25 and B). What should I do to remedy this? Thanks for reading.

04-13-2012, 10:49 AM   #2
Site Supporter

These copied the original Leica format from 1925 with the removable baseplate and film spool for loading. Proper loading is difficult unless you use "long leader" film, as today's short leader film will catch on the top film rail as you try and push the film uner the pressure plate. The leader needs to be extended to about 4" long. Leica and others used to make templates for cutting the correct shape film leader, but you can freehand the cut once you are familiar with the shape. (The Leica templates sell used from $50-$150 due to collectors...)
I've seen shutter curtains damaged from people trying to force short-leader film into the camera, and buckling the edge of the film into the shutter.
The slow speeds run from the tension of the closing curtain. Usually problems are from dried lubricants gumming up the works, and sometimes simply working the shutter a lot can free it up, but often a CLA of the shutter is needed. I wish a CLA could un-gum MY works as well...
04-13-2012, 12:09 PM   #3