Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-25-2012, 07:30 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Best bang for my buck 35mm film processing?

Hey all. I just picked up a used Pentax ME and a used Sears KS Super from a fellow Pentaxian in the marketplace, and I couldn't be happier with the decision. Both are in absolutely perfect shape. Right now, I have a Sigma 28mm F2.8 "mini-wide" attached to the ME.

Anyway, I've never had to get film developed before (I grew up in the digital age), and I'm wondering if you think there is a difference in quality between different film processing companies. Should I just go to the CVS on the corner, the local mom-and-pop shop down the block, or is there a mail-in company that does the best job? I know some places are now doing digital scans in addition to simply developing the negatives. Any thoughts on that? I know this is a vague question, but I'm new to film, so I don't even know where to start.

Also, can you recommend a good VALUE film? Combination of quality and price? I just bought a few rolls of low-end Fujifilm, but I've been reading on here that that stuff is garbage. But I don't have unlimited funds...still a student. Any suggestions you have for this newbie film guy would be appreciated.

Thanks.

04-25-2012, 07:58 PM   #2
Pentaxian

For color negatives, I really like Kodak Gold 100 @ $2.15 for 36 exposure roll.
04-25-2012, 08:23 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums