Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-24-2012, 11:36 AM   #1

Shot my first film this week

I'm a total noob to photography and prior to this week I've only had a Canon S95 for photos and zero experience with an SLR. My MX arrived this week and I went for a walk to try it out. Needless to say, all my hesitations about moving to film have vanished. Sure, it takes some getting used to, not knowing how the shot came out, but being limited by how many exposures you have and knowing that you only have the one chance really helps you think and compose your shots properly. With digital, I would just snap away and nothing ever felt right, because I guess I never really thought about it. I live in the middle of nowhere and I'm without a car right now, so it'll be a while until I can get my film developed, but I'm very glad I bought this camera. I do have a few quick questions.
Right now I have just a 50mm f2 which suits me fine. Should I keep my eye out for any other lenses to carry around with me? Also, should I worry about filters and any other accessories at all?

Thanks,
Christian

06-24-2012, 11:49 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well, you've got all the camera you'll ever need with the MX as far as I'm aware, so good choice there Film is weirdly great. I keep hoping to get my ME Super out, but film is so expensive, it's hard to justify right now (bit strapped for cash). But there is something just enjoyable about shooting on film, regardless of whether you can afford to develop your images.