Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-11-2012, 01:37 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Kodacolor-X from Endangered Species - Opinions

I was excited to receive a package in the mail yesterday from Four Corner Store with a roll of their new Revolog Streak film to try, but even more excited for the box of Endangered Species film, described on their site as "four random rolls from our secret stash of film."

I wondered which rolls I'd get and so I tore open the package and opened the box to discover one of these inside next to three other rolls of film:

My wife, who is not interested in cameras at all, immediately exclaimed that this was the cutest film container ever. I thought it was pretty neat too. Inside the container is a 20 exposure roll of Kodacolor-X. I've been shooting film for 20 years, but this Kodacolor is older than I am. Now I'm faced with the decision on whether to shoot the roll or leave it as is.

I'd appreciate your opinions on what you think I should do. Should I keep the roll of film in the freezer or fridge and never shoot it because it's old and may have lost much of it's sensitivity and be so fogged the pictures hardly turn out? Should I store the film because it's vintage and neat? Or should I load it in a camera and enjoy shooting it, realizing it'll have to be developed in B&W or C-41 chemicals because I'd hardly find somewhere processing C-22 (I haven't developed film since I was a teenager, plus I no longer have the equipment and chemicals)? Or do I shoot it and send it off for development not worrying about the results at all?

08-11-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's a waste to just leave it because it's old. It was made to create pictures, you'd be heartless to deny it the opportunity to fulfill it's purpose!