Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-11-2012, 06:10 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
PZ-1P owners Is this normal? Autofocusing issues

Hi all

I just picked up a PZ-1p off ebay and I am having issues with the auto focusing. Here are the lens I have tested with:

F35-70
F70-210
FA35-200

The auto-focusing hunts A LOT! and then has trouble focusing. It is not all the time but more than 70% on the F70-210. With this lens it will get stuck and not rotate through all of the focusing range, just move like an 1/8 of its travel. On the other lens it may or may not focus after going through its dance.

All these lens focus fine on my other cameras (K-r, ZX5n, *ist). They may go back forth over their entire range but focus fine.

Was the autofocus technology that primative? Based on the reviews I read on the site I expected it to be pretty decent. I am still learning the camera but I believe it only focuses on one point in the center.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

08-11-2012, 06:36 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Maybe I'm just pointing out the obvious here, but I would recommend trying the AF in a well-lit area, if you have not done that.

Good luck.
08-11-2012, 06:56 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by jimmm18 Quote
Was the autofocus technology that primative? Based on the reviews I read on the site I expected it to be pretty decent. I am still learning the camera but I believe it only focuses on one point in the center.
Yup, that's right- there's only one AF point. I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't seem like the sharpest tool in the shed

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)