Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-27-2012, 01:32 PM   #1

Ilford XP2 problems?

Hi,

I'm new to film photography and I've just acquired a supposedly all functional K1000 on eBay. I've just recieved my scanned photos from the lab, but there are a lot of them that are completely washed out, all grey. A few ones have a really good contrast, with deep blacks while other ones have washed out grey-blacks. I'm thinking it is exposure problems, but, as I'm new to this, I thought overexposure or underexposure would cause the pictures to be too black or too grey or too white, but not as washed out grey as this...

I've attached a few photos, so maybe you could explain to me what I did wrong.

Thanks!

Attached Images

08-27-2012, 01:40 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Underexposure on the first two, and the other greyish ones, though less so. Except for the first two, you can recover much in post processing
08-27-2012, 02:07 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Given the very high exposure latitude of XP2 I'm surprised those first two are as underexposed as they are. Do you have a light meter you can check your camera's one against?

K.
08-27-2012, 03:04 PM   #4

Original Poster
Hi,

I have just recieved a Gossen Lunasix, but at the time I had no external light meter. So as I understand, if I underexpose, I won't have a black picture, but a complete gray one? I'm suprised, I thought I was going to have a black picture if I underexposed, not a gray one. And if I overexpose, will I get the same result of washed out gray?

Thanks

08-27-2012, 04:51 PM   #5
Site Supporter

The k1000's meter needle will go to the middle if there is not enough light to activate it. This can cause you to think you have adequate exposure when it is really way under.
08-27-2012, 05:08 PM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by etibo1 Quote