Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-07-2012, 11:23 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
How to check camera seals for replacement?

I have a Pentax MX coming in possibly next week. This is my first film SLR camera and I've never used or operated a film camera before. I am very excited, I know how to shoot in fully manual as I do it a lot on my K-5. I was wondering how do I check the camera seals if it is needed to be replaced? Also how much does it cost to replace the seal at a camera store? I am not going to try replacing it myself.

09-07-2012, 11:38 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Run some B&W film through it in high noon clear day daylight without a case on the body.
09-07-2012, 11:52 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks Docwyrm, will do.

Has anybody bought anything from this site before? Pentax MX light seal kits
09-07-2012, 11:57 AM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

If your MX has never had it's seals replaced, it's a good bet that it will need new ones. The seals are along the rear of the camera body, where the door seats against it. There's a channel running along the top & bottom edge of the rear camera body that the seals reside in. Also at the door hinge area. Chances are the mirror bumper foam will need replacing. If the seals & bumper are frayed, gummy, or just not there anymore, then you'll need to replace them.

Jon Goodman makes DIY seal kits with a tool & complete instructions for $10 shipped. It's not that hard, if you take your time & follow the instructions. I've replaced seals using the kit on an ME & Spotmatic with very little trouble, having never done it before. I have no idea what a camera shop would charge, but really, it's not that difficult. I'll see if I can dig up Jon's email & will check back. Congrats on your MX

edit: Here's the email for Jon @ Interslice: jgood21967@aol.com
Great guy to do business with! (no affiliation)