Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-21-2012, 09:37 PM   #1

First time shooting velvia with KS500

Hello -

Just got my velvia 50 and 100 in the mail today, going to be shooting with my Pentax (Sears) KS500 and need some help with exposing.

My KS500 has the following settings on the right dial:

B | 8 | 15 | 30 | 60 |125|250 |500

And on the left dial where it says ASA:

12-3200, then DIN:

12-36...

im confused!

Since it's velvia 50.. do I pick ISO 50?

How does this correspond with my aperture on lens? 2 | 2.8 | 4 | 5.6 | 8 | 11 |16??

I'm a total newb, but any help is much appreciated.

How does my light meter play a part in this? When it's in it's perfect exposure part (when needle is in middle) does that mean my picture is going to be bright or dim? Any help how my settings affect this?

thanks.

09-21-2012, 09:48 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Set your ASA Dial to 50.
ASA and ISO are sorta different names for the same thing.
09-21-2012, 09:51 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thank you.

What if I set it to 40 or 30? How will this affect the output?
09-21-2012, 10:54 PM   #4
Pentaxian

By setting the ASA dial higher or lower than the film's rated speed, you're sort of fooling the meter.
If you set to say 30, the meter thinks you have 30 speed film, so it will give an exposure reading that will overexpose 50 speed film.

I highly recommend finding a copy of Understanding Exposure, it is well worth it.

09-22-2012, 12:46 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by anbuzim Quote
Hello -

I'm a total newb, but any help is much appreciated.

How does my light meter play a part in this? When it's in it's perfect exposure part (when needle is in middle) does that mean my picture is going to be bright or dim? Any help how my settings affect this?

thanks.