Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-19-2012, 09:28 AM   #1
Forum Member

Please choose a lens for my ZX7, please ?

Hi everyone! I am on overload a bit w researching, so I am hopeful someone here can help me. I have a ZX7 with a Tamron 75-300 tele- macro and a Tamron 28-80.
My issue is that they are both very slow indoors. I wanted to get a prime lens 50 mm and have looked at The SMC 1.4 50 mm http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00005ABC5/ref=aw_d_detail?pd=1
Is this the lens to get? I shoot mostly my children, along w some action shots of fishing (bass) but I am doing that in manual with the tele lens as I am usually in another boat.

Anyhow, I had saved and sold items for a K5 and decided to stick with film. I put away right at 400 dollars for film and etc and think I "need" a prime. I am definitely a beginner here! So all help is welcome.

10-19-2012, 10:15 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Find one of the programs that analyze your shooting focal length preferences. One which also includes analysis of the aperture and other parameters is ExposurePlot, a freeware program. I've used it and it works. What I did was export really tiny jpegs (8x8 pixels) of every photo I took with the lens into a temporary hard drive folder, and then ran exposure plot against the images.