Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-26-2012, 11:24 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
How does one make the film roll not sensitive to light?

I see that when you first have your film, before you shoot it, you have to be careful not to let it in the light otherwise it'll ruin your roll of film. However when I get my film developed, I see that they give me back my roll of films but this time you can expose it to light. How does one do that? I am going to be developing my film next week in class and am curious as of how this will happen, my professor will of course teach the class how to do it. But I am curious now. Also how does one make that tiny exposure become so big into a print such as a 4 by 6 and such? And when you make the roll of film no longer sensitive to light, it is possible to still use that film to become a big print?

10-26-2012, 11:38 AM   #2

Well, I'm not an expert, but while the developer changes silver ions to silver oxide (feel free to correct me here), the fixer neutralizes the rest of the emulsion. So to make film non-light-sensitive, just dip it in fixer for about ten minutes.

But this of course removes the film's ability to register images, and if your goal was just to have film that you'll never develop, there's no need to care about exposure at all.
10-26-2012, 11:39 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That's quite a lot of very broad questions. While I could give you some broad responses, I think you just need to hang on and go through all of this step by step in your class with your instructor. All will be revealed. If after that, you have more questions, post 'em here.
10-26-2012, 11:50 AM   #4
Veteran Member

It's Voodoo magic.

10-26-2012, 11:56 AM   #5
Giveaway winner!

Photos: Albums
Here is my try at an answer...

QuoteOriginally posted by LeDave Quote
... you can expose it to light. How does one do that?