Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-13-2008, 11:58 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Pentax K2

I will start with this, my first SLR is K10D; so I have no knowledge on film SLR at all, yet I love the look of the old film cameras and the color & light that film captures. so I come across a K2 in camera store, just wondering what you guys think of it? love it? hate it? great to use? Anything I should pay attention to?

Thanks

Vic

02-13-2008, 12:49 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by vizjerei Quote
I will start with this, my first SLR is K10D; so I have no knowledge on film SLR at all, yet I love the look of the old film cameras and the color & light that film captures. so I come across a K2 in camera store, just wondering what you guys think of it? love it? hate it? great to use? Anything I should pay attention to?

Thanks

Vic
I have one on its way to me that I bought on ebay. It's basically a K1000 with aperture priority mode (and a few other bells and whistles). I believe it was the top of the line model of the K series of cameras. The only gripe I've heard about them is that it is difficult to use the film speed collar around the lens mount. I liked my K1000 and I love my MX, so I can't wait to try it out. One thing to check are the light seals in the film door, and the foam that cushions the mirror during an exposure. On old cameras, both are usually a gummy mess that needs to be replaced. You can get a great replacement kit from Jon Goodman, who sells on ebay under the name interslice (or something like that).
02-13-2008, 02:28 PM   #3
Veteran Member

If it's anything like the KX (and I know it is) you will love it. I've been looking for a nice black K2 to use with my KX instead of the MX that I use now. Post your thoughts and questions on it when you have taken it out for a test roll.
02-13-2008, 04:30 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Great film camera