Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2012, 11:20 AM   #1

Auto 110 Light Meter Help

Hi All,

I'm a noob to this forum and I joined specifically because I'm starting to shoot on an Auto 110 I acquired at a sidewalk sale for $20.(!!!)

I shot a roll of film - brand new stuff from lomography.com - and it came back blank. I do not have the negatives yet; I know it's blank because the lab informed me. Naturally, I want to find out what's wrong. The obvious issues are null (lens cap was off, film advances, the shutter functions).

One possibility is dead batteries - I neglected to replace them before shooting. I just replaced them, but have noticed that there is no indicating light in the viewfinder. Now, there is no film in the camera, but I didn't think there needed to be film in the camera in order for the light meter to function (Then again I am a n00b to this camera, and I was born in 1985 so SLR cameras are still somewhat new to me!)

There IS supposed to be an indicating light in the viewfinder, yes? And the camera DOES need batteries in order to shoot a roll of film that will actually be exposed, yes? If this is the case, why wouldn't the indicating light be functioning, if the batteries are new? How can I find out what would be malfunctioning?

Please help me learn more about how this camera is supposed to function, and possible issues I could be having.

Thank you!!

12-15-2012, 12:07 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Congrats on your purchase! Michael Butkus has a wonderful site with many instruction manuals. Have a look at Pentax Auto 110, Pentax Auto 110 super, and send Mike a few dollars to keep up the good work!
12-15-2012, 02:20 PM   #3

Original Poster