Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-01-2013, 11:38 PM   #1

pentax K5

Hello everyone.this is my first post hope I'm clear enough on my questions. I have a pentax K5 from the 70's what is a good brand of telephoto lens to buy, maybe 200 or 300mm, what are the prices on the use market, is ebay a good place to buy lenses. I'm new to photography and want to use this camera to take wildlife photos, any help will be very appreciated. Thanks

01-02-2013, 12:09 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You mean you have a K2? There are lots of lenses available on the Marketplace, so I'd recommend you start there:
The Pentax Marketplace | Sell Pentax | Photographic Equipment for Sale - PentaxForums.com

All Pentax lenses are listed here:
Pentax Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

And third-party lenses are listed here:
Pentax Lenses by Sigma, Tamron, Zeiss, and more - Reviews and Specification Database - Pentax Lens Review Database

You have a lot of research ahead of you IMO, but I'd recommend the Pentax K 300mm F4 if you want to shoot wildlife with film. More details on this lens can be found in the lens database

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-02-2013, 01:13 AM   #3
Veteran Member

The K200/2.5 is also a very good lens (which I have), but it's generally considered a little short for wildlife, so Adam's suggestion is probably better. Besides Adam's links, make sure you also check out:

PENTAX : Select a PENTAX interchangeable lens camera or a lens model