Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-28-2013, 03:10 AM   #1

Pentax LX; help, what happened here!

Hello everyone. I wonder if anyone can advise me? I took some shots yesteerday which I think are washed out. Please forgive the composition and other errors- I am a novice.

I was taking photos of a church with the sun behind me which was bright and lighting up the church. I think at some stage I have - in auto- set the exposure compensation dial to 2 which may be the problem. Should I have gone the other way- I think so, ie 1/2 or, should I just have just taken a reading from darkest and lightest parts of scene and set shutter speed in the middle= in manual?

I have posted a few of the photos in low res - I hope that is allowed and any advice on what I have done and what I should have done from the Pentax Community would be most welcome. Thanks.

John

Attached Images

01-28-2013, 03:39 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you set the dial to +2, then that would be overexposing the photo by two stops. However, these photos don't look like they're overexposed by that much. Given the scene I'd say that the dynamic range is pretty good, actually.

I've noticed that the sky is grainy in all of the photos. Is this because of JPEG compression? If so, then you can probably blame the compression for the washed out highlights as well. If not, then you need to get some lower ISO film

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-28-2013, 03:48 AM   #3

Original Poster