Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2013, 09:33 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Light Meter Differences

I ran the following light meters at the same controlled source (tungsten kitchen scene at night) and got varying results:

All had the ISO set to 400:

K1000 with 50mm @ f 2 says to shoot at 1/60
Super Program with 50mm @ f 2 says to shoot at 1/60
A3000 with 50mm @ f 2 says to shoot at 1/60
K-01 (apc crop) with 35mm @ f 2 says to shoot at 1/20
iPhone light meter apps (two different ones) both said to shoot at 1/30

I took pictures with the k-01 at all three suggested times, and liked the 1/30 the best.

There is a 1.5 stop difference between the k-01 and the film cameras. This makes me nervous :-) A full stop difference from film to iphone.

On digital you want to avoid overexposing, but on film you want to never underexpose, right?

My workflow is local pro lab developing and then I scan on my Epson V500.

I am new to film (on my third roll now) and many of my pictures have more grain than they should because I think I am underexposing. I have a ME super arriving this week then I will decide which 2 film cameras to keep. I know the super program is staying.

Thanks for any advice or tips anyone has for me on the metering!

Jamey

02-25-2013, 09:58 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
The best way to check exposure is a gray card with a constant light source. Make sure all you can see through the camera is the gray card.

If you are shooting with typical C41, you will have so much latitude - particularly on the highlight side, that a 1 - 3 stop overexposure will typically be rendered the same by most scanners in autoexpose mode. So you have a lot of latitude to overexpose. Keep in mind this is not the same as don't underexpose. You should feel free to over or under expose intentionally as you like. However, know your camera's metering as well as your film's characteristics to get the results you want.