Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2008, 08:40 PM   #1

Considering film for the first time...

Hey everyone!

Now, I'm an SLR Newbie, and I have a K100D and an 18-55 kit lens and 55-200 mm telephoto on the way. I can appreciate the flexibility and economy of digital. Heck, I'm excited about this camera as my first "real" one, after about two years with a Panasonic point and shoot, which now has a half broken zoom motor and a sometimes wonky LCD screen. I think I've learned a decent amount with that little camera and I'm keeping it until it's toast.

But for some reason I'm suddenly finding myself drawn to film, too...

What has stopped me is that I'm kind of sensitive to some chemicals, and being in a darkroom full of them for hours on end isn't something which is really compatible with me.

But - I still think film is probably the best damn way to really "learn" - yes, I can, and will, be putting my K100D in Manual mode, and there's a heck of a lot to learn, but with film, you can't hit preview and then delete the shots you don't like - it costs a lot more to waste film than erase files.

So, I guess what I'm asking is, if I ever go for film...it seems like the ME Super is a very popular choice. Would you think this a good one for someone's first film SLR who's never done it before? What about any of Pentax's Medium Format offerings? (Probably quite costly).

AND - since I couldn't see myself developing the film, uhh, there are still reputable photolabs out there that can do it up nicely, yes?

Many thanks! Truth is, for all the sleekness and ergonomics of new DSLRs, I think that film models have a fantastically rugged, sexy look to them that I love!

Best,

R.

03-03-2008, 08:48 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums