Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-15-2013, 04:37 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
35mm newbie, Question about ME Super film loading

Hi, I'm just starting my adventure into film photography, and have just loaded my first film in the ME Super. I thought I had done it correctly after watching a video and reading the manual, however in another video I watched after a guy mentioned that the 'film advance/rewind indicator' should show as white if loaded correctly. Mine Is displayed as red and black, so I'm wondering if I've done it incorrectly. I didn't see this mentioned in the manual or in any other videos so I'm just curious. Apologies for any stupid questions, I'm completely new to film.

04-15-2013, 05:29 PM   #2

QuoteOriginally posted by captainbert Quote
Mine Is displayed as red and black
What you will want to do is watch that window when you advance to the next frame, you will notice the lines move back & forth indicating that the film is moving through the camera. If the lines stay stationary as you advance to the next frame, you mis-loaded the film.
04-15-2013, 05:42 PM   #3
Veteran Member

AS above, red/black is all ok as long as they wiggle when winding.

I tend to click off 1-2 frames with the back open to make sure it's wound on properly. (my theory being I'm happy to waste 1-2 frames rather than have it not wind on and waste a whole roll)
04-15-2013, 06:22 PM   #4
Ole
Administrator

You can also just watch the rewind crank. If it turns when you wind, then the film is loaded correctly and film is being pulled out of the film cartridge.

04-15-2013, 06:32 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Ole Quote
You can also just watch the rewind crank. If it turns when you wind, then the film is loaded correctly and film is being pulled out of the film cartridge.
True, but I've found it often doesn't do that until you've taken enough shots to take up the slack inside the film canister.