Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-16-2013, 12:51 PM   #1

ME Super and Vivitar lens compatibility

Hi!

A few months ago I got myself a Pentax ME Super. It came with a Ricoh Rikenon 135mm lens. A lens to big for me.
I went online and bought a 1991 new vivitar 28-70mm 1:3.4-4.8 macro focusing zoom lens (PK mount???).

When using this lens on a f other than f/3.4, the camera freezes mid shot, that is, the mirror gets stuck "in a 50%" position and only moves the rest of the shot if I turn the f ring to 3.4.

Are there any known issues with the compatibility between this lens and the Pentax ME Super?

The Vivitar seems to have 10 f positions (clicks) between 3.4 and 22, while my 135mm lens only have 7. Does the camera only recognizes 6 positions?

What's a good zoom lens to use with the Pentax me super?

I am fairly new to this SLR world. Any help will be appreciated.

04-16-2013, 02:41 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is this the lens you have?
Vivitar 28-70mm 1:3.5-4.8 MC Macro Focusing Zoom Lens Reviews - Vivitar Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database

If so, it should be compatible. The ME super doesn't really "read" the aperture ring, it just senses a tab that tells it how far it's been stopped down.

It sounds to me like something might be getting jammed...

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
04-16-2013, 03:04 PM   #3

Original Poster
Not quite. The lens looks a little bit more modern. I attached a photo of it.

When I use the 135mm lens all works well. Only with the vivitar has issues.
Attached Images