Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2013, 10:17 AM   #1

K1000 focusing with Spilt-image, possible ?

Hello Everybody,

I have finally got my Pentax k1000 I used it few times..Still trying to the the hang of the focusing screen..I really like the split-image focusing system...and I'm still a beginner. Please don't get all mad/angry at me.

So my questions are:

Is it possible to get spilt-image on the normal Pentax k1000?
If I could find a broken K1000 SE, could I change it; put it onto my K1000?
Is there any site I could buy a split-image for K1000?
Is it possible to buy a split-image to the closest size and trim it to fit on the k1000?

I saw some on ebay that says for K100D K110D K200D K2000. Would those fix for K1000?
Diagonal Split Image Focus Screen Pentax K2000 K M DL | eBay

I apologize for some of the noob questions I asked here. I'm just trying to learn and improve =]

04-17-2013, 10:37 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The focusing screen is not something that is easily changed on a K1000. It is something that would have to be done by a camera repair shop. If you were in the US I would recommend Eric Hendrickson, I have no idea where you could get it done in Australia...

The screens for digital SLRs are of no use to you. Those screens are cut for a smaller viewfinder.
04-17-2013, 08:00 PM   #3
Veteran Member

The most cost effective thing is probably to just buy a different camera.

You can pick up an ME Super for about $50 if you watch ebay, the ME super allows the use of full manual. (the normal ME does not)

There's countless other K mount bodies that sell for around the same price, just do some research which ones have the screen and manual modes. (I just recommended the ME super since they're easy to find and fill both requirements)
04-17-2013, 08:50 PM   #4

Photos: Albums