Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2013, 10:45 PM   #1

Why are we proud of Pentax?

First of all, please don't get me wrong since I've been shooting Pentax for over 15 years and nothing would alter my devotion... However, let me tell you that in more than one ocassion when talking with other film and digital shooters, I've had the impression that when they meet a new Pentax guy, they loose their tongue as if they were saying: And tell me, why are you a Pentax guy? a) Because you couldn't afford Nikon or... b) Because you wanted to be different, and not becoming another anonymous Canon guy?
Short answer is: I just love Pentax, but could you give me some tips to defend more properly my preference?
Well, I guess it's a silly point, but I just wanted to share it with the community.

05-02-2013, 11:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Next time just say 'because reasons'.
05-02-2013, 11:17 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Because Pentax provides a high-quality, compact, well-designed system that is focused on the photographer, which results in cameras that have amazing handling and awesome image quality at a price point that I can afford.

TBH, Canon has been tempting me as of late (the thought of a 5D3 with a 135L mounted still haunts my dreams), but it would require that I jump to something that is nowhere near as affordable or compact
05-02-2013, 11:24 PM   #4
Veteran Member

IS/VR (we call it SR or shake reduction) with every single lens, new and old.

05-02-2013, 11:24 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Here are a few:
- it takes double A batteries and I hate proprietary ones
- Pentax? Oh they make medium format pro cameras, 10,000 dollars or so. This is just their little model, you`ve probably never heard of them.
- I like the small size, you pay more of course, but good engineering is expensive.